Alan Kyerematen among four Ministerial nominees to be vetted today

Alan Kyerematen among four Ministerial nominees to be vetted today

The Appointments Committee of Parliament will vet four ministerial nominees on Monday, including the Minister-nominee of Trade and Industry, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen.

The Committee will also vet Minister-nominee for Local Government & Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, Minister-nominee of Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and Minister-nominee of Energy, Boakye Agyarko.

The Senior Minister nominee, Yaw Osafo Maafo was the first to appear before the committee on Friday followed by Kan Dapaah, who will head the Security Ministry if approved by Parliament.

Finance Minister nominee, Ken Ofori-Atta, as well as Minister nominee for Defense, Dominic Nitiwul, also took their turns on the first day.

Attorney-General & Justice Minister-nominee, Gloria Akuffo, and Minister-nominee for the Interior Ministry, Ambrose Dery were vetted on the second day

Day four

Dr. Matthew Opoku-Prempeh, Education and Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, Health, will appear before the Appointments committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017.

In all, 36 nominees would be vetted.

Vet security minister in camera

Ahead of the vetting, security agency, Eagle Eye International, has called on Parliament to vet nominees for Defense, Interior and National Security in camera.

Eagle Eye argues that, information and security strategies that would be given out in response to questions asked them at the vetting committee might put the security of the country in jeopardy.

“We have watched carefully the vetting of Ministers and their Deputies in the past, and know how information is divulged during the process, in the quest of parliament to know the qualification, experience and strategies, the nominees intend to adopt to make their ministries stronger and more effective…It is a major security threat, in our view, to lay bare for instance, plans to make the strategies of our nation better. We may compromise the security of our country if we deliberately or involuntarily divulge some sort of information to those we are protecting the country from,” Eagle Eye International said in the petition.

Below is the full list of members on the Appointments committee:

Joseph Osei-Owusu (MP for Bekwai and First Deputy Speaker) – Chairman

Adwoa Safo (MP for Dome Kwabenya and Deputy Majority Leader)

Kwesi Ameyaw Cheremeh (MP for Sunyani East and Majority Chief Whip)

Dominic Nitiwul (MP for Bimbilla)

Samuel Atta Kyea (MP for Abuakwa South)

Matthew Opoku Prempeh (Manhyia South)

Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus-Glover (MP for Tema East)

Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful (MP Ablekuma West)

Joseph Kofi Adda (Navrongo Central)

Joseph Cudjoe (Effia)

Patricia Apeagyei (Asokwa)

O.B. Amoah (Akwapim South)

Kofi Amoako Hene (Atebubu)

Anthony Karbo (Lawra)

Barbara Asher Ayisi (Cape Coast South)

Micheal Yaw Gyato (Krachie)


Haruna Iddrisu (Minority Leader and MP for Tamale South) – Ranking Member

Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak (Minority Chief Whip and MP for Asawase)

Mahama Ayariga (Bawku Central)

Sampson Ahi (Bodi)

Eric Opoku (Asunafo South)

Bernice Adiku Heloo (Hohoe)

Joseph Yieleh Chireh (Wa West)

Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye (Odododiodioo)

Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (North Tongu)

Alhassan Suhuyini (Tamale North)


Prev Senior Minister nominee Osafo Maafo: 40 year dev't plan 'problematic'
Next Independent prosecutor to deal with corruption cases - Gloria Akuffo