Alban Bagbin set for Deputy Speaker position

Alban Bagbin set for Deputy Speaker position

Outgoing Majority Leader, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin, is set to be named the 2nd Deputy Speaker in Ghana’s next Parliament.

According to reports Bagbin’s appointment is still subject to approval by MPs in the next Parliament.

“The position of 2nd Deputy Speaker in next Parliament will be going to Alban Bagbin…but that will be subject to the entity of Parliament because MPs in the next Parliament must vote to elect who becomes the next Deputy Speaker,” Citi FM’s parliamentary correspondent, Richard Sky said.

The Member of Parliament for Tamale South, Haruna Iddrisu, has been named as the leader of the minority in the next parliament.

He will be deputised by the Member of Parliament for Ketu North, James Klutse Avedzi.

Mubarak Mohammed Muntaka, retains his position as the Chief Whip, with the Member of Parliament for Banda, Ahmed Ibrahim, and the Member of Parliament for Ada East, Hon. Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah,  serving as his deputies.

About Alban Bagbin

Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin was born on 24 September 1957. He was the Minister for Health in the Ghana government until February 2013 when Hanny-Sherry Ayittey took over the position. He is also the Member of Parliament for Nadowli West.

Bagbin hails from the Upper West Region of Ghana and obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in Law and English at the University of Ghana in 1980. He proceeded to the Ghana School of Law at Makola in Accra after which he was called to the bar in 1982.

Bagbin is a member of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and represents the Nadowli West Constituency from the Upper West Region. Bagbin announced his intentions to run for president in 2008 on the NDC ticket, but he never stood for the primaries.

He became the Majority Leader in the Ghanaian parliament in 2009.

Following a cabinet reshuffle in January 2010, he was appointed Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing by President Mills.

He later took over from Dr. Benjamin Kunbuor as the Majority Leader under President John Mahama’s tenure.

By: Edwin Kwakofi/

Prev Kyei Mensah Bonsu, Haruna Iddrisu confirmed as Majority, Minority leaders
Next Don't relocate GNPC - ACEP to NPP