Parliament approves 8 ministers

Parliament approves 8 ministers

Parliament on Thursday okayed eight minister-designates to be sworn-in by President Nana AKufo-Addo.

The approval of two other minister-designates was held over controversial statements they made at the vetting committee. They are minister-nominee of Energy, Boakye Agyarko, and Senior minister nominee, Osafo Maafo.

The 35-page report, jointly signed by Mr. Osei-Owusu, who doubles as the First Deputy Speaker and Ms. Peace Fiawoyife, the Clerk to the committee, considered the background of the nominees and their responses to questions posed to them during their vetting.

Moving the motion for the adoption of the report, Mr. Joseph Osei-Owusu, the Chairman of the Appointments Committee, noted that the nominees distinguished themselves during the vetting and should be approved.

The approved ministers are:

Albert Kan-Dapaah (National security minister-designate)

Ken Ofori Atta (Finance Minister-designate)

Alan Kyerematen (Trade and Industry minister-designate)

Gloria Akuffo (Attorney general and Justice minister-designate)

Ambrose Dery (Interior minister-designate)

Dominic Nitiwul (Defence minister-designate)

Hajia Alima Mahama (Local government and rural development minister-designate)

Shirley Ayorkor Botchway (Foreign affairs minister-designate)


Abu Mubarik/

Prev Osei-Owusu hints of review of Appointments Committee
Next Dan Botwe justifies creation of new regions